In one week, 28.5 pounds gone!

A colleague and I conducted a telephone coaching support group last week. I am so excited by the results that I just had to share. Everyone on the call particpated, in some fashion, in a 5-day low-glycemic (high fiber) cleanse that, with our help/coaching/tips allowed their bodies to take a much-needed break from the standard American diet.

The way they had been eating had been causing them to gain weight, feel sluggish in the afternoons, and have some pretty nasty carbohydrate cravings. And now, after only 5 days low-glycemic eating, the five people who actually reported their results released a total of 28.5 pounds! That’s more than 5 pounds per person (on average) GONE! They also reported (every single person!) increased energy and not having that “need to take a nap” crash feeling in the afternoons. And I am happy to say that my flatter belly fit into a pair of last summer’s shorts quite comfortably.

How did this happen? Well, we used a system called RESET, a system I have used and recommended to my nutrition coaching clients for seven years. We taught about several solutions to common diet problems and debunked some myths about low-fat dieting, certain “health foods” you should never eat, and what it really takes to get a flat belly.

First, we talked about the glycemic index solution. This is only a part, but a very important part, of learning to eat in a way that tastes good, fills you up, keeps you full, and gets rid of carb cravings. We also talked about the glycemic load, another important part that’s a little more esoteric but is really at the heart of understanding how food affects your digestive system and your metabolism.

You see, the body does this miraculous thing after just a few days of eating this way. And I’m not talking about a diet. I don’t believe in diets. Instead, this is a way of giving your body really good, healthy, fresh, delicious food–stuff you probably eat anyway. It’s not a secret diet or anything. It makes sense, your body loves it, and, for most people who do this, they begin to lose weight, release fat, get more energetic, sleep better, and generally feel better.

Yes, there are clinical studies about how all this works, and I bet you’ve heard of some “diets” that are based on this very simple concept: Mediterranean diet, the South Beach diet, the Zone diet, the 17-Day diet. Check out just about any grocery store magazine headlines about “how to lose 20 pounds and 5 inches in 30 days.” This is the stuff they are talking about.

So, how do you go about doing this for yourself? Well, you learn about the glycemic index solution, you shift your eating habits for a few days to reset your metabolism, you stick with it for as long as you wish, and voila! Quick weight loss to begin with, then sustained and pretty easy weight loss over a period of time.

Exercise? Yes, you can do some of this too, but the good news is that you don’t have to spend hours in the gym. Just the basics–30 minutes, 3-5 times a week–is enough to boost your metabolism and develop healthy habits.

I personally did not do the entire system last week. I ate low-glycemic meals but did not do the “cleanse” the first five days as the participants did. I have done it before successfully and have lost up to 6 pounds in a week. Still, even by modifying it slightly, I lost a respectable 3 pounds, and I hardly changed a thing. Healthy lifestyle habits do the trick to lose weight and release fat. You can get “bikini ready” in a few weeks if you want to, or you can simply feel better in your clothes.

If you have ever done this super easy cleanse to lose weight and want to share, I’d love to hear from you. Or if you want to learn more about how eating low-glycemic is a really effective anti-aging tool, please leave your comments below.

6 thoughts on “In one week, 28.5 pounds gone!

  1. Sally, you are so right. i was one of the people involved and that was easy weight loss. 10 pounds in 5 days! I did the RESET the week before and between the two weeks I am down 14 pounds. As you mention, part of the beauty of the Reset System, is that once your body switches gears to burning fat, you lose more weight.

  2. The American diet has gotten much more unhealthy in the last couple of years. Example: I was at my sister’s boyfriend’s house as a surprise for her. We were up there for a week and went to get groceries. So to save money we all got to choose a soda. A three-liter bottle of soda, for the whole week–one for each of us. That’s a lot! Then we bought chips and Hawaiian Punch. We might have been on a college campus, that doesn’t mean we have to eat like it! And we bought Ramen noodles for lunch and ate for lunch 2 days straight. I was sick of them! We had to go to Cici’s pizza just to eat some salad for dinner. And the pizza was good I admit it, but my body had just too much junk food and carbohydrates, because later that night I felt tired and sick. I only got over it by forcing myself to stay awake which still wasn’t healthy. Times are getting greaser and fattier, and the only way to stop it is to steer away from fatty and sugary foods and live a healthy and organic life style.

  3. Hi Sally,

    I’m familiar with the glycemic index & would like to know more about the reset/cleanse system.

    Thanks!

    Linda Baker

    1. Hi, Linda!
      It is so good to see you here.

      The RESET program is a 5-day high-fiber, low-glycemic cleanse that is the secret to my success. Over the five days, I never spiked my blood sugar, ate consistently good tasting food, my energy kept increasing, and my sleep quality increased. I now do the RESET seasonally just to stay on track and to, if necessary, get my metabolism back on track (like after too many summer parties and Labor Day backyard bbq’s).

      I recorded some information about the RESET program with a colleague that I would be happy to send you directly. Due to some technical difficulties, the 20-minute audio is not the greatest quality, but I would be happy to send it to you directly.

      Thanks for your post.

  4. Hi Sally- I enjoyed reading this information on low-glycemic eating habits. Your readers may be interested in my experience. I haven’t specifically attempted to RESET or lose weight; I simply cut out the empty (high carb- highly processed) calories. I drink 5-6 glasses of water per day and look for high fiber, low sugar choices for meals, especially for breakfast. After about 6 weeks, I’m 8.5 lbs lighter and about 3 inches smaller in my waistline! It didn’t feel like work much at all, and I don’t crave carbs like I used to.
    Glad to hear about you book. Congrats!

    1. Thanks, Carmel! Sounds like you did just the right stuff, and it really is surprising how easy it is and how the cravings just melt away (like your waistline!). Just a few “bite-sized” changes can make a huge impact–about 8.5 pounds worth! Congratulations. I hope others will comment about their experience as well. (Thanks for the congrats–getting much closer to the “book in my hands” date!)

Got a question or comment? Join the discussion.

